NEW GIRL IN THE CITY! (June16)

As I write this post, I’m staring out of the window, and still trying to be one with the reality that I have moved to Pune!

All those who know me well, were astounded when I told them about my decision of moving to Pune. Reason – I was the one who never wanted to move out of Delhi! After living in Delhi for 12 years, I think I could have definitely called it my home. Delhi has taught me a lot – made me what I am today – pulled me up when I was down in the dumps – gave me all the experiences that I have today. I will always be thankful for that. 

(Above all, it gave me Hauz Khas Village)

IMG_20160402_191857

Still, one day, out of the blue, I chose to move out of Delhi.

I really needed a change of environment, and as I was planning to begin my own Public Relations and Marketing Communications set-up (I have decided to name it Yugen, how’s it?), I thought I might as well renew my whole life! 🙂

So, here I am, in Pune, very close to the airport!

I packed a lot of excitement, anxiety and confidence, along with my clothes, and came to Pune. I was much exhilarated because I had planned everything on my own – it felt very much like planning world domination!     

Early in the morning of June 2nd, while it was still dark, I landed on the terra firma of Pune, right foot first. Thanks to my friend who picked me up and showed me around before dropping me at my new abode.

That is when the balloon of my fantasy started losing air!

The first week was like living in captivity, I knew nothing about the place, I had no control over anything, I couldn’t even give proper directions to the delivery guys! Setbacks of being a Control-freak!

Pune sounded much cooler when it was mentioned in anecdotes by other people, but when I started staying here I felt disappointed, out of the place, heartbroken. All of it because I was constantly comparing it with Delhi!

20150112_133403[1]

Although, I had thought of all the worst possible circumstances that could happen to me in Pune, I think I did not condition my mind to them. Hence, I flipped out when the Universe started conspiring against me. I had to literally sit down with the Universe over a cup of Coffee to sort out our differences! Well, we have amicably solved our problems and buried the hatchet. 🙂

Coming back to the story of my woes:

Since day 1, there were frequent electricity outages, however the outage that began last Sunday night went on for about 20 hours!! So, I ended up in a dark house, which I am yet not accustomed to, without a drop of life in my mobile phone. I had no books, no phone, no internet, (no water too) – all I could do was stare at the walls and out of the window! I had to go and charge my phone in a cafe the next day.

I survived through it!

Yeah, that is what I thought, but no, right when the electricity was restored, and everything seemed like going back to normal, a lizard entered my room, and decided to block the entry door of my room. It just did not budge! And I hate them lizards! It even posed for a photo – looking at me with its big, dabby eyes. As a result, I had to undergo another sleepless night. It vanished into thin air the next day, by the way.

Today is my 9th day in Pune, I am still missing the comforts of Delhi, but I am trying to accept the fact that I am in Pune and I came here with some dreams and aspirations, which need to be taken care of as soon as possible.

While I move on to deal with my new life with a big grin on my face, you make sure you keep in touch with me. Here’s to new beginnings. Cheers!

2028

If you light a lamp for someone else, it will also brighten your path.

 

Ohhh, I forgot to tell you, the famous ice-cream joint Natural has different branding in Maharashtra and Delhi. 😛

See for yourself.

Keep smiling. Ciao!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Arun Mishra says:

    Hmmm… You will like it. Any relationship needs time so just wait.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Probably it’s time we actually meet 🙂

    Like

    1. Yes, and coincidentally I am coming to Baner today! 😁😃

      Like

      1. Really, now that sounds grand. I reach Baner at 7. Coffee?

        Like

        1. Sure. I will drop a message. Let me know where to meet.

          Like

        2. Okay. The Coffee House.

          Like

        3. No idea where it is, I hope your number is still same.

          Like

        4. Yes, remains the same 🙂

          Like

Leave a Reply

